Date: May 16, 2010

Location: Encinitas, CA

Course: 750 meter swim, 20 Km bike, 5 Km run

A race report sure isn’t as much fun to write about when your fitness is sub-par. I went into this race pretty much knowing how it was going to go. Since Oceanside my fitness has gradually declined, and my weight has rapidly gone up. It’s no surprise. That’s what happens when you work out less and eat and drink more. It’d be great to remain in top shape year round, but I usually find that about twice a year I go through a cycle like this. I find that when everything is going well, that it seems as if everything will continue to go well. Nobody certainly wants to get fat and out of shape, but it happens.

Anyway, I had originally registered to race in the elite division, and good thing I switched out. If I was still in as good of shape as I was 2 ½ months ago I would have had a great placing. Instead I didn’t even have a podium finish in my age group.

Okay, with my groveling behind me, it was a great race. I had never done this race before. For a fairly crowded sprint race I found it to be a pretty good course.

The swim was a beach start, surf entry and exit. I thought the waves and current were pretty strong when I had warmed up, so I ran way way South at the start. I actually got through the surf rather quickly, but I had ran so far South that it took me quite a while to get back to where everyone was swimming. When I reached the crowd I saw a lot of caps from my wave start, and I was swimming faster than all of them, so I knew I had messed up. It was a chance I took, that didn’t work out too well. I had expected to be pushed further North by the current and end up in front of everyone. My swim exit was okay, but I never caught a good wave, so I knew that was going to hurt me as well. The run to the transition area was pretty interesting in that you had to run up a rather long and steep ramp.

I rode my road bike for this race, just as I had for the time trial I had done earlier in the week. I felt rather comfortable in the drops. I did feel a little edgy in that I wished I was powering by everyone on my tri-bike. Here is the power vs. altitude chart from WKO+:

It is rather comparable to the time trial I had done four days prior.

Here are some histograms, showing the distribution of my power, speed, and cadence:

Here is the quadrant analysis:

The run was probably the most disappointing, and probably most affected by the weight gain I’ve seen over the past 10 weeks. I would usually run about a minute faster/mile.

After the race I went for a 29 mile ride back home. In addition to just working out more consistently, I need to get into the habit of doing a ride or run following a short race like this. I ended up having a great ride, meeting a Navy Captain that has been a SEAL for 37 years and is less than a month from retirement. We had a good chat about the Navy, and he told me how he is getting ready for a the Great Divide Mountain Bike Ride, from Canada to Mexico. You never know who you’ll run into on bike ride.

Anyway, I guess it’s time to get back on the wagon. Here is my weight chart over the past 90 days, with a range of 179-209:

