Date: Sunday, August 30, 2010

Time: 6:30 AM

The other day Matt Dixon asked if I wanted to do a long ride on Sunday. I think of long rides as 200K, and Matt knows this, so I was excited to have a riding partner for a permanent. I love doing these rides, and don’t mind riding for hours alone, but it is nice to have company occasionally. I had been wanting to do this route because Molly and I have done it twice on the tandem. It’s a great route, starting in La Jolla, going up to Del Dios Highway where it follows the reverse Swami’s route through Elfin Forrest, and then a right up San Elijo Road. From there the route goes east of the I-15, eventually to Rainbow, then returns through Fallbrook, Bonsall, Oceanside, and then back to La Jolla along the coast. I like this ride because there are several good climbs, and they are all finished (except Torrey Pines) during the first half.

My goals for this ride:

  1. Ride the TT bike and stay in the aero bars where ever it was safe to do so
  2. Push the hills, especially Del Dios
  3. Get some good 90% of FTP efforts in the aero bars once I hit Oceanside (about 90 miles)

The ride was going well, but at 45 miles Matt had a horrible failure of his rear wheel. We couldn’t figure out what he hit, but it had crumpled enough to put a couple tears through his tire. This caused a sudden flat while we were probably going 40+ MPH downhill in the aero bars, but he was able to stop without crashing. The inner tube spun inside and sheared off the valve. We tried to figure out if we could salvage it enough to ride back to the car, but the next tube would have probably blown as soon as it was inflated, or the rim would have probably crumpled more he had tried riding on it. So, we hated to do it, but Matt had to call for a ride. I decided to push on.

My ride went well, but I definitely let up a bit once Matt left. I wanted to do well up Del Dios because I had set a PR 8 days prior on the road bike, and I wanted to hammer it out in the aero bars to see what I could do. Unfortunately I came up short.

Here is the ride profile and the hills that I was able to compare results in on Strava.com:

Here are the Del Dios leaders. I didn’t beat my ride from last week!

Here are the recent results, showing my 5:44 time. I was a little surprised that I rode that much slower on the TT bike, but look at the power difference!

Here is the leader board for West Valley Parkway. I achieved KOM on this one!

Next is San Elijo Rd. I placed 6th on this. My power was quite a bit lower than I had just done on Del Dios and West Valley Parkway. I tried to rest and recover through Elfin Forrest in anticipation of the climb, but still was feeling it.

Here is the decent down Twin Oaks. I wasn’t even pushing it, just got nice and aero and relaxed.

Old Castle is a nice climb. It seems to get shorter every time I do it. Unfortunately this is after Matt had to get a ride, so he missed on the fun.

Couser Canyon is another good one. My legs were getting more and more tired, and I didn’t have Matt there to push me.

My chain fell off on Rice Canyon, which definitely slowed me, but again, I wasn’t pushing that hard.

Here are the leaders for Torrey Pines. My best of 6:59 isn’t anywhere near the KOM.

This ride I did 9:55, my 12th best attempt at Torrey pines.

Here is Campus Point, a short climb as you go into UCSD.

Since I am 6 weeks out from Kona, I looked at a 200K I did 3 weeks prior to Kona. I had ridden that ride “hard” (perceived exertion). The route was different, and the temperature was definitely higher, and my legs were fresher, but thought it would be good to compare to see how my training is going. This is one of the benefits of keeping a training log.

Metric

11/1/2009

8/29/2010

Distance

126.9

122.6

Ride Time

7:13

7:18

Elapsed Time

7:41

7:58

Rest/pause Time

0:28

0:40

Elevation gain

7060

6865

Avg Speed

17.5

16.8

Total Energy (KJ)

5536

5212

Weight

189

196

CP5

316

329

CP10

303

306

CP20

297

297

CP30

290

290

CP60

270

254

CP90

261

231

CP180

244

217

NP

232

232

 

The goals of the two rides were similar in that I wanted to ride on the TT bike, spending hours on the aero bars. The rides differed in that last year I was trying to maintain a higher steady power throughout the ride, which is evident by the higher CP60, CP90, and CP180. This year I wanted to push it up the hills, and take it easy on the flats. I ended up with slightly higher powers for the shorter efforts this year. Overall I find this rather reassuring. At this point it is very easy to think of all the training that I didn’t do. Trying to make up for that now is a set up for overdoing it and arriving at Kona burned out. I felt similar last year, very concerned about the training I didn’t do, but ended up with a great race. Now, using my training log I can reevaluate where I am and feel that despite having several bad months this year, everything is going to be okay.

I look forward to sharing my Kona experience with you. I have been doing triathlons off and on since 1986, and this is my first trip to Kona. Who knows, it may be my last, so no matter what I plan on making the best of this dream come true.

Thanks for reading.

