Date: Wednesday, September 1, 2010

These time trials put on by Andy Concors have become rather popular. I remember doing them a couple years ago, and there would only be 10 or 15 people at them. Yesterday there were probably close to 40 people at the time trial, even with the high winds and earlier sunset.

Last month I had a great time trial, establishing a new FTP of 342, despite being rather tired. My legs felt a little more rested this time because instead of spin class for 60 minutes plus a 5 mile run in the morning I swam 4200 yards. My warm up was pretty good too. One thing I didn’t think through real well was where I wanted my power to be. I kept thinking about 340 watts, when I should have been thinking about 360 watts. There seems to always be wind at Fiesta Island, especially in the evening. I believe the consensus was that the winds were much stronger this time than they were during the TT last month. I wasn’t too concerned, thinking that even if it lowered my overall speed, it was the power that I was most interested in. The winds made it a bit more tactical though, and I found that I had to shift gears much more frequently. I had my 11-28 cassette on the bike instead of the 11-23, and for an event like this having tighter gearing probably would have been better. The 11-28 is really for hilly courses, which Fiesta Island is not. Anyway, here are some comparisons of the two time trials:

 

8/4/2010

9/1/2010

Overall Time

27:22

27:35

Overall NP

358

334

Lap 1 Time

9:12

9:03

Lap 1 NP

351

348

Lap 2 Time

9:10

9:16

Lap 2 NP

354

328

Lap 3 Time

9:00

9:16

Lap 3 NP

370

331

It looks like pacing was more of an issue. This is interesting because last month I didn’t expect to have such a high power initially, and on the last lap I gave it a little extra, and then everything I had left in the last mile. I tried to take a similar approach this time, but was thinking about 340 watts instead of 360 watts, so into the wind I’d hold 380-400 watts, and then with the wind and downhill I’d let the power drop. The fluctuations in power may have been too much, and I must have definitely let the power drop too much. I’m still pleased with the overall effort and results, but this is a fine example of some of the benefits of analyzing your races and training log. You have to learn about yourself as an athlete and develop better strategy and technique along the way.

