Date: Sunday, September 05, 2010

Last year Molly and her brother ran this race while I went and did a criterium in Dominguez Hills. This year I figured it would be a good pre-Kona warm tempo run. I’m not a big fan of Disney, but it was a pretty cool course that spent about 2 miles going through the amusement parks, and then a run through the Angels Stadium. These large races are difficult to get good warm ups at, and to pre-race bathroom stops. At about 5:10 I went for a 1 mile easy run where I didn’t really warm up much. I mostly just realized how tired my legs were from the ride yesterday. By 5:30 I found my corral and a decent starting position within it. The race started at 6, and my legs were screaming from the beginning, so instead of trying to find a good tempo and fighting the crowds I decided to just run with the flow. My official time was 1:39, but I timed myself at 1:37 because I had stopped shortly after the start to use a porta-potty. I had to go before the start, but wasn’t about to lose my spot in the coral! Here are some split times:

Mile 1

7:45

Mile 2

7:22

Mile 3

7:14

Mile 4

7:16

Mile 5

7:13

Mile 6

7:15

Mile 7

7:28

Mile 8

7:34

Mile 9

7:23

Mile 10

7:23

Mile 11

7:22

Mile 12

6:14

Mile 13

7:08

Mile 13.4

6:02 pace

Overall

7:14 pace

1st 5K time

23:08

2nd 5K time

24:22

Last 5K time

21:06

1st Half time

51:24

2nd Half time

48:10

 

Note: The Garmin supposedly calculates a distance about 1-2% longer than reality, so that is why I measured 13.4 miles instead of 13.1.

It wasn’t a PR race for me, but I ran on tired legs and had fairly even mile splits. I was able to pick it up towards the end, and had an overall negative split race. I wished I had brought my camera because there were some pretty cool sights. My favorite thought was the marquee at the lumber yard that said “YOU CAN GET A’S AND STILL FLUNK AT LIFE”. I’m not sure how that was supposed to bring more business into their store, except that it gets your attention.

