Here is some live power data captured at Kona on a few of the pros. The data for Faris al-Sultan, TJ Tolakson and Cameron Brown is at about 7.1 miles into the bike portion, so I decided to look up my power data from the same area. We had turned right on our way up Palani Road which is a short but decent climb up to the Queen K Highway (up to 6% grade).

Here is the comparison. I don’t have HR data since I don’t wear a heart monitor strap while doing triathlons.

 

Jerald Cook

Faris al-Sultan

TJ Tolakson

Cameron Brown

Power (Watts)

385

372

420

372

RPM

63

77

70

77

Speed (MPH)

12.3

13.8

13.5

15.7

Torque (in-lb)

526

     

HR

   

157

 

 

I’m not sure how useful it is to review a snapshot of power data, but it is interesting. I noted that my power was similar, but RPM and speed were lower. The speed difference is most likely since I’m fairly heavier than all those guys. This is also early in the race when my power was higher than it should have been.

