As I’m downloading the files (actually 1 file, but several downloads) to prepare to write this I am reading the Wattage Group posts for today. A question came up about whether to download and review training files after each ride, or to do it every few days. Immediately I thought that the more impact you want from the data, the sooner you should look at it. If you aren’t that interested in doing much analysis then it doesn’t matter much. The replies I read (mostly from cycling coaches that are rather experienced in reviewing power data) were all right along this thought process. Immediately after the ride you can recall the effort, and the numbers mean much more.

Anyway, I have decided on two races this summer that I want to do before our move to Great Lakes, IL. August 6 is the Camp Pendleton Sprint Triathlon and September 11 is the Superfrog Triathlon. I did the Camp Pendleton Sprint the past 2 years (Molly’s done it the past 3). In 2009 I finished 3rd overall (the only time I’ve beaten my friend Phillipe Krebs), and 1st military. In 2010 I finished 6th overall (crushed by Phillipe who won!) and 2nd military (beat by John Hatala). I’ve only done Superfrog one time, in 2001, when Canari-Navy Cycling Team leader Kevin Childre won. Both of these races are awesome events, and there will be a lot of friends and familiar faces there so I figure I should make them memorable races before our move from San Diego.

I just started an actual training plan. My running has been suffering for over a year now, so I realize that I need more structure in my training. My plan consists of 4 swims, 4 bikes, 4 runs (which include 1 bike/run “brick” workout) per week. I will likely add more biking and swimming, but not at the cost of any of these 12 workouts.

Today I went to East Miramar for some steady state intervals. East Miramar has a road about 5 miles long with very small rollers. It is safer and more fun than Fiesta Island, where a lot of people in San Diego do these types of workouts. I took short recoveries at each end to drink and to turn around safely. My goal was to keep the power above 270 and below 300. Here are the results of my splits:

Interval

Time

Average Power

Normalized Power

Warm up

16:00

171

207

Interval #1

12:54

284

284

Recovery #1

0:14

99

 

Interval #2

12:09

286

288

Recovery #2

0:15

114

 

Interval #3

12:42

290

291

Recovery #3

0:24

95

 

Interval #4

12:08

284

284

Recovery #4

0:26

70

 

Interval #5

12:46

285

286

Recovery #5

0:23

51

 

Interval #6

12:35

294

297

Cool down

14:53

148

202

 

The power distribution for the entire workout was mostly zone 3:

