This morning’s workout consisted of six 90 second hill climbs, done about every 9 minutes or so. I chose a fairly steep hill to do the repeats on. These were basically as hard as I felt I could do, without looking at the power output during the interval. I’ll be doing more of these, so it should be interesting to see if there are big gains as I become more familiar with this length of interval. Here are the results:

Interval

Avg Power

1

445

2

412

3

412

4

405

5

442

6

448

Mean

427

 

I did the first four sitting, the fifth doing several jumps to help maintain momentum, and the final one standing. My perceived effort was definitely highest on the final two efforts.

Since my personal best 2 minute effort is 461 Watts, these numbers don’t impress me too much. After three weeks of doing 20 second intervals though I was able to establish a new personal best. I have four more of these workouts planned over the next five weeks, so I am hoping that with each session I see some improvement.

