I know I’ve said it before, but my run has been really bad for the past year and a half. I used to love running, but I haven’t been able to find much joy in it, and the runs just didn’t feel good like they used to. With a more consistent running plan over the past six weeks I’ve started seeing great improvement in my threshold pace, and the long run is even starting to feel a lot better. Today I did a 14 mile run at Mission Bay, where it is cool and flat. I did the same route two weeks ago, so I thought I’d compare the two.

 

6/26/11

7/10/11

Total Time

1:01:40

1:57:45

1st Half

58:05

59:37

2nd Half

1:03:35

58:08

Last 3 miles

28:13

24:15

 

Today I started with legs that were exhausted and sore from this week’s workouts, but I settled on a pretty even pace. Although my pace wasn’t as high as I would have liked, I was very pleased to find I was running an even pace, and even a negative split. I feel the benefit from the long run is really in the final three miles, which is why I showed the split for the final three miles.

